Gus Cosio says so

Ideas on the Philippine Stock Market

Disruptions in this site

Dear blog readers,

I noticed lately some discussions that have been rather unpleasant to read.  There have been exchanges that seem to irritate a number of people as well as tirades on other people making comments.  There have also been occasions of bogus comments where identities of regular readers were obtrusively used.  Then one reader commented that there may be some parties who were playing tricks on the site.  These were causing antagonistic sentiments among readers.

I realized that there have been and continue to be a disruptor coming into the blog.  I do not know what his or her motives are, but he or she have managed to get the ire of some people.  I realized this disruptor when I replied to a comment from a public terminal in an airport where I did not log on as the owner of the blog.  after that comment, I saw a comment with my name and email address on it but I did not make the comment.  I deleted the comment when I recognized that it was not me who said it.

Anyway, I do not know who our disruptor is and I do now really care.  I think whoever you are, you are simply trying to destroy whatever good that we have tried to achieve in this blog.

May I suggest to bona fide readers and followers to always use polite language when making comments either to my posts or to others comments.  That way, we will know who are making legitimate comments and who are not.  We should also just ignore those comments which come on as irritating.  Let us not dignify them with a reply.

I am of the belief that many can be helped by this blog with honest and candid thoughts coming from all of us.  I would like to run this blog as long as I can and I will not let any disruptor dissuade me from doing so.  I would like to seek everybody’s cooperation to take it upon themselves to be discreet and honorable.  After all, what we really want in this site is for everybody to benefit.

Thanks and God bless you all.

February 22, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

26 Comments »

  1. I agree. Let’s make this blog a fruitful n worth reading one just as intended by Sir Gus.

    Comment by Shan | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi sir gus,

    It seems that these trolls have sprouted ever since the market has been in a downtrend. Perhaps they are just bitter that they are taking heavy losses with your suggestions in your blog. If this is true, I hope they realize that what you write are just your opinions and should not be taken as an absolute truth.

    It goes without saying, there is a risk in playing with the market. If it is too hot to handle, go for a time deposit instead.

    I enjoy reading the opinions here and it’s sad that trolls have been rampant.

    Comment by leo.james | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. I totally agree and thereby second the motion all the way.

    Comment by Ralph | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. Also, there are some people commenting that are using the blog of sir Gus to promote their own website or provide their own analysis. Some are just out there to cause chaos and confusion to the already confusing stock market.

    As a suggestion (if I may), if a comment already has about 10 thumbs down or more, it doesn’t get shown anymore since its a bad comment anyway. Maybe I can help with this if this needs to be configured further.

    Keep up the good work sir Gus 🙂

    Comment by jhesqi | February 22, 2011 | Reply

    • jhesqi, sensible suggestion; no offense, but does this mean your post must not be shown any more? so far it has received 12 thumb downs

      Comment by gelineohara | February 22, 2011 | Reply

      • no offense taken 🙂

        yep if people don’t like my suggestion comment, it should not be shown since it received many thumbs down. it’s up to sir Gus anyways if he will implement this. note that this has been implemented in other popular websites like this one hehe.

        also, stricter policy on who can rate should be looked into. maybe only one person is responsible for the thumb downs (tinamaan siguro). anyways, this has happen also to other users, not just me hehe.

        good luck sir Gus 😉

        Comment by jhesqi | February 22, 2011

    • jhesqi,

      the problem with the suggestion is that people who have nothing to do and just want to mess up things will just click on the thumbs down button even though the comment is a good one.
      (i think a classic example is this post of yours -a good one and yet there are 14 thumbs down as of this posting)

      Comment by marketbeginner2 | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. To be sure, this blog helps a lot of people. Hope to learn more in the future. More so with the way the market is moving. X-)

    Comment by footballer | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. i am with you sir Gus! God bless

    Comment by RmR | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  7. Sir Gus,

    I think the one who’s pretending to be yours got your email address (the one you have in your Word Press account) in one of your posts in the comment section (I read it I think last month or maybe dec.).

    To avoid people pretending to be you, I suggest po that you change the email address registered in WordPress so that you’re the only one who knows it.

    Comment by ricky | February 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for the advice, ricky. I think I’ll do that.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | February 22, 2011 | Reply

      • your welcome, sir gus.

        another option is that you screen the posts that are being posted.

        the problem with this is that it would require your to spend a considerable amount of time which is not good at all for a busy person like you are…

        Comment by marketbeginner2 | February 22, 2011

      • sir gus,

        You’re welcome po.

        Another option is actually by changing the settings of your account.

        As of now, what i know is that you can screen the comments being posted by your readers. The downside of this is that it requires time and effort on your part which I think you can’t afford to spend because you’re a busy man.

        I just singed up in wordpress recently so I’m in the process of exploring the settings of my blogsite…if I find a better option to solve this concern of your, I’ll post it here sir.

        Thanks and God bless!

        p.s.
        marketbeginner2 and ricky are one and the same person. 🙂

        Comment by ricky | February 22, 2011

    • ricky,

      Many thanks for the advice. From this point forward, I am using a different email address revealed nowhere on the net. I am asking everyone to please disregard any more posts from “jasper”

      Comment by the real jasper | February 22, 2011 | Reply

      • you’re welcome. hope it works

        Comment by ricky | February 22, 2011

      • I sure hope it does. I had learned my lesson. Never publish your e-mail address on the net; or at least use different ones for different purposes. Anyway, I hope Gus will continue his unrelenting support for a good cause: to help local folks learn about the markets.

        Comment by the real jasper | February 22, 2011

  8. Hi Sir Gus, I’m an avid reader of this wonderful blog and may you continue to guide us, especially those who are beginner in stock market like me.

    More power and God bless… 😀

    May we help to boost our economy even in a little way 😀

    Comment by al | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  9. this blog has been very informative, educational to us. sir gus has been kind enough to share his thoughts and what he knows about the ins and outs of stock investing.

    the last thing i’d want is for sir gus to stop sharing insights(thanks sir gus for deciding to keep blogging even with this person trying to kind of sabotage this blog of yours).

    whoever is doing posts pretending to be somebody else, i’m requesting you to please stop. let us keep an environment of healthy discussions and sharing of ideas.

    thanks and God bless!

    Comment by ricky | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  10. I think the moral of this disruption is to never establish a serious reputation in the blogosphere. While it takes a great deal of time and effort to build a reputation, corrupting it in the blogosphere only takes a simpleton of a hacker with a little bit of extra time.

    Anyway, I guess the persistent downtrend in our market has injected a lot of frustration among us. Let’s just stay cool and focus on what really matters.

    Comment by marketbeginner | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  11. Sir Gus, maybe it’s time to upgrade your site. I can provide you with a site wherein before one can comment, he/she must be a registered fb / yahoo / open ID account. Meaning, he/she must have a proper identity.

    Let me know your thoughts Sir Gus, I’m willing to provide everything for FREE. This is such a valueable site to us and we don’t want it to disappear just because of some low life creature.

    Comment by Garry DC | February 22, 2011 | Reply

    • yes garry,
      I am thinking of upgrading the site. just can’t find the time yet. will surely let you readers know when I do.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | February 22, 2011 | Reply

      • I’m willing to extend my help Sir Gus. Just let me know. I’m a web developer by profession and I’m willing to provide you a site with your own domain name guscosio.com + webhosting, everything for FREE.

        Comment by Garry DC | February 22, 2011

      • I’ll get back to you, Garry.

        Comment by Gus Cosio | February 22, 2011

      • i am willing to help also if you need me, just contact me 🙂

        Comment by jhesqi | February 22, 2011

  12. Let us not dignify them with a reply. – Copy. Sir Gus. I can’t wait for more stock talks, less thrash talks in the coming days.

    Comment by gelineohara | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  13. I complete agree with not dignifying them with a reply. We very much appreciate your opinions, Gus. Thanks for continuing on to updating this site.

    Comment by BornOnChristmas | February 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

