Gus Cosio says so

Ideas on the Philippine Stock Market

Start of the blues

10:10 am  Monday 20 December 2010

This week is going to be slow for most market and tough for people who are nursing losses.  For most of us who have made good money during the year, it is a good time to be thankful.  As a mater of fact, anytime is a good time to be thankful because whether you win or lose at one point of the game, what matters is you learned something that will help you in your future investing activities.  The only losers are the stubborn and closed-minded people who trade on emotion and unfounded notions.

For me, there are two big stories that I anticipate to unfold.  One is CEB which by some expensive error traded as low as 82 last Friday.  I know of a lucky yet puzzled investor who posted a buy of CEB at 110 and was able to get some shares at 82.  CEB has gone very cheap due to anxieties over the entry of AirAsia into the Philippines.  Actually, two months ago, the president of Clark International Airport had already told me of AirAsia’s plan to make Clark one of its hubs in the region.  It is not as if this development comes as a surprise for Cebu Pacific management, so I am sure they are well prepared for it.  I would stick to my opinion that if CEB has a lower cost per passenger kilometer than AirAsia, the latter will have a more difficult time competing in the local market.  To be sure, AirAsia will not be able to encroach on the rich domestic routes such as Manila-Cebu and Manila-Davao although they will be able to fly to more destinations in the Philippines from their home country.  I think this will only bring higher tourist volume into the country which would help Cebu Pacific’s cause.

The other story is NIKL which reported five-fold increase in nine-month income to Php 1.34 billion.  Most forecasts were for full-year income of Php 1.4 billion.  This bodes well for 2011 earnings forecasts of around Php 2.2 billion which would put NIKL at around 9X earnings at 15.30 Friday close.  Since I am very constructive on base metals for 2011 because of better expectations on the global economy, I would keep mining shares of nickel and copper producers active in my portfolio.  In short, there will always be room for NIKL, PX, ORE and AT in my trading list although investors in mining share should be aware that gyrations will be wilder in this sector because of the many variables affecting natural resources stock.  The advantage of nickel producers in this country over other mining ventures is that nickel mining is just a step above quarrying; meaning it is as simple as shoveling the dirt and trucking it to the concentrating site.  It is as simple as a gravel and sand operations.

For the smart money that sought safety in strong blue chip stocks, the movement of TEL over the past few days have proven very rewarding.  Unfortunately, I was pretty greedy and bull-headed and was waiting for TEL to trade below 2400, so I missed the boat.  This is a great stock and will likely trade above 2600 in the next few days.  I think AC and BPI could make a similar move toward year-end which would attract money to other blue chips.  I think for the remaining days of the year, it will be the blues that will lead the music.

December 20, 2010 - Posted by | Financial markets in Asia

104 Comments »

  1. still holding on to my CEB.

    Comment by Sh3rwin | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Is this the best thing to do.. hold on to CEB.. considering its very low price now? Shouldn’t we average down or sell to cut our losses? Help !!!!

      Comment by newbie | December 20, 2010 | Reply

      • Newbie,
        I would hold because I do not see CEB coming off in the near future. I like the stock so I am willing to ride it.

        Comment by Gus Cosio | December 20, 2010

      • Thanks Gus!

        Comment by newbie | December 20, 2010

  2. sold my PX. no more mining stocks in my portfolio right now. anyway, it was at a 40% plus profit.
    thanks sir Gus for your insights and advices!

    Comment by RmR | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. Sir, what would be your portfolio for 2011?

    Comment by Allen | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. Guys, what do you think of Petron? It is a top performer today. Is it still okay to buy this stock or is it already too late?

    Comment by secretlife | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • The current price of Petron reflects a pe of 21x (annualized). I think it’s too late to enter. I sold my position at 14+ but have no regrets. If it goes back to the 12 level I will consider a buy back.

      Comment by Ralph | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • I think it’s not too late if you don’t loss.lolz

      Comment by marketbeginner | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hi Sir Gus,

    Thanks for your reply regarding my question on you being wiped out back in early 2000s. I’m learning a lot from you sir Gus.

    My next question sir Gus is if you just hold on to your stocks back then, would you still be losing money with today’s stock price or you’re already earning? I’m asking this question sir Gus because I’m planning to hold on to wonderful blue chips companies for a long period. Perhaps, maybe earning on the dividends declared by these blues and not minding on the short-term price wobbles of my stock picks. Thanks and more power!

    Comment by Jen | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. Sir Gus, thanks for your insights and advices! I’m very new to the market, just started last September of this year but I’ve been following this blog for quite sometime before i finally decided to invest. I’m happy my profit has gone up over 20% – thanks to your advices.

    Comment by Jaffy | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. Hi sir,

    What are your thoughts on MBT? Ive been following this for quite some time. I missed the SRO so I just added to my position today.

    Thanks!

    Comment by James | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • well, as what was said before.. MBT is worth at least 70. Although, at its current price I am thinking twice as it is too near my threshold.

      Comment by jasper | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • James,
      If you bought MBT already, I think you’ll see it do better in about a month. I think a good strategy on MBT is to continue to follow its price and see if there would be sellers just before the payment date of the SRO because that would be an opportunity to buy it on its cheap side.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  8. Hi Sir Gus,

    What are your thoughts on SMC? I was fortunate to have caught a few shares when it was in its 120s and was able to ride the waves to 140s. Should I realized profits now or continue to ride the wave?

    Comment by Leo | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Leo,
      I am sorry but I haven’t been following SMC because of too few resources available to me on the stock.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  9. > Unfortunately, I was pretty greedy and bull-headed and was waiting for TEL to trade below 2400, so I missed the boat.

    Same here 😦 I was waiting for it to go down to 2360.. If only I had moved faster instead of sucking my thumb.

    Is it really true then that if certain stocks drop below a certain price, you move on it without thought and hesitation?

    Comment by jasper | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • I took advantage of MPI when it dropped below 3.5…

      Comment by James | December 20, 2010 | Reply

      • lucky you. The last time I bought, I did so at 3.88 😦

        I’m gonna buy JGS tomorrow or just sink more funds into CHIB. Waffling does no good at all. By this time, if I’m not already convinced, I will never be convinced. So I just need to act and make a decision.

        Comment by jasper | December 20, 2010

    • Jasper,
      I would try to find out first if anything was wrong. If I find nothing, then I’d go ahead and buy it.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  10. Guys, in your opinion what is the best stock to buy now?

    Comment by Allen | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  11. Sir Gus,
    SIR Will you be a buyer of ORE at current price? Thank you sir for your big help.

    Comment by jaayem | December 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Jaayem,
      I posted a buy yesterday but was not hit. I hope that answers your question.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  12. Hi Gus,

    Do you think it’s a good time to buy this low month? Im planning to buy VLL, SMPH, SMDC and maybe PX…Hope for your suggestions?

    Comment by Taylor | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  13. Hi everyone,

    Just have a little question about the EX-date and Record date on dividend, will i receive the declare dividend if i sold the stock after EX-date but before Record-date? Or it should be at least any day after Record-date? Thanks

    Comment by zaizai | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • You don’t need to wait for the record date to receive dividends. What should you do is just hold the stock until the ex-date. You can notice, that value of stock drops at the ex-date. example, ex-date is Dec21, you have to hold your stock till that date. Even if you sold it on Dec21, you are alerady entitled to it

      Comment by claire | December 21, 2010 | Reply

      • Thanks a lot claire.

        Comment by zaizai | December 21, 2010

  14. Is DMC already a good buy? I missed it when it went as low as 32++ and now its already at 34. Should I wait till next year?

    Comment by Mitch | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey mitch;

      I’ve been following DMC since last year and I still believe its a good buy :). I would buy more if i can, but ive already allocated 23 percent of my portfolio to DMC and another 16 percent to SCC which is a DMC controlled company. I hope that helps 🙂

      Norman

      Comment by Norman Go | December 22, 2010 | Reply

  15. Thank you Petron and SMC …..

    Comment by Franky | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  16. sir gus,

    can i make a suggestion?

    can u publish your stock picks on the sidebar for some accountability and consistency? u dont have to put the real figures, maybe just the relative percentages for your portfolio allocation on each stock.. thanks sir gus!

    Comment by cliffhanger | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • But, accountability for what? It might be helpful to think of this site an information-exchange site only.

      Actually, a personal portfolio should be a closely guarded secret. Warren buffett said that you only get so many good ideas in a lifetime. It should be treated as preciously as possible.

      We should be glad Gus shares time to time.

      But in my opinion, it would be a bad move to base my buying and selling based solely on what he says here. Peter lynch warned about that also. Not to base your transactions on what a fund manager says because for one thing, you will be the last to know when he changes his mind.

      Comment by jasper | December 21, 2010 | Reply

      • i agree with jasper, looking at cliff’s blog it may seem it’s easy for him to ask that since his portfolio is open to the public. but then his identity isn’t…
        on the safe side..cliff just asked, and didn’t demand…it’s up to sir gus

        Comment by aa | December 21, 2010

      • exactly for what u said on your last paragraph..

        DGTL has been in his talks before november, come the correction he rarely mentions it, maybe he already reduced his position..

        same with ORE after it said that it wont be able to deliver on its first shipment..

        a lot of people read his blog and follow him on his positions..i guess they just deserve a heads up too once changes occur 🙂

        Comment by cliffhanger | December 21, 2010

      • doesnt have to be exact numbers..but relative percentages lang..i know he cant publish the exact numbers for security purposes..

        Comment by cliffhanger | December 21, 2010

    • its too much..our guru has been helpful to those who believe on him and likewise to those who use this blog for their personal interest. sir gus is giving his precious knowledge and experience for free and most of the time advises some of the followers..those are all for free. we dont even give him a single cent for those services nor he was asking for any payment or positive comment in return. Its a pure gratis advocacy on investment literacy. to ask him accountable for this gratis advocacy is an act of ingratitude.

      Comment by richard | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • yeah you dont need to follow sir Gus’ advice if you find him inconsistent, neither it is his responsibility to provide details of his investments. Its up to you and everyone of us here to take risk of applying the free knowledge and experience he is providing. it is our homework to find and set our own standards and margin of safety. we should not rely on others too much even though this blog has proved to be rewarding for most readers including me 🙂

      Comment by pikachu | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I do not understand why you have to exact “accountability and consistency” from Mr. Cusio. Why hold Mr. Cusio “accountable” for the views expressed in his blog, when it is never his obligation to disclose which stocks would perform well and which will fail the public’s expectations? Why would you want to require written proof of “consistency” when you know that the market is dynamic?

      If you base your stock picks on other person’s opinion, you should not hold that person accountable if in the end, your picks turn out to be unfavorable to you. You seal your fate with the choices that you, and you alone, make.

      Comment by beanstalker | December 21, 2010 | Reply

      • You said it exactly right Beanstalker.

        Comment by Ralph | December 21, 2010

      • i agree with you bean.

        Comment by baliw yang si cliff eh | December 22, 2010

    • Cliff,
      On my accountability and consistency: I do not have all the money to buy the stocks I like. If people ask me whether or not I like a stock, I will answer in all honesty even though I may not own the stock in question. For example, I like TEL a lot, although I sold it at 2734 was unable to pick it up at 2400 until it eventually slipped away from me.
      If you are referring to my mention of ORE and SLI, I also liked ORE when it was around 2.10 when I first mentioned it in my blog. I also expressed my anxieties in the blog when I learned from blog followers that ORE announced shipments were delayed to 2011Q1. at that time ORE was already above 3.50. I similarly expressed my concern when people commented that SLI was issuing debt instead of doing a follow on offering. By the way, I mentioned SLI when it was around 1.80 and it did shoot up to 2.50 after that although briefly.
      You see cliff, I am not promoting my portfolio nor am I telling people what to buy or what not to. I am sharing things that are in my mind and in my free time when I can update my blog. I am quite a busy person with a fair amount of responsibilities that my principals compensate me for which incidentally gives me responsibility for a few portfolios.
      I do this blog as a matter of interest and personal advocacy. While I feel responsible to my readers, I also expect people to take personal responsibility for their actions, including whether or not they agree with the things I say. If people learn from this blog, I am pleased. But if you follow everything I write including my responses to comments, I never – repeat – never tell people what to do nor do I even condescend on anyone who asks silly questions. You are free to keep reading and commenting, but please try not to appear smarter than who you really are, even if you are trying to be subtle about it.
      Thank you.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 21, 2010 | Reply

      • hehe i didnt mean real numbers sir gus, but just a relative portfolio of placements, suggestion lang naman 🙂

        its actually very easy to do with pse.com.ph, theres a section there where you can post your stock picks at your acquired price, it automatically updates itself, so you can just copy paste it from time to time 🙂

        Comment by cliffhanger | December 21, 2010

      • Sir Gus,

        Don’t mind him. We appreciate your work here a lot. He is quite ubiquitous really, advertising his blog on any stock forum available. Ever since he shifted to his close-minded notion of value investing though, he had been posting as though he’s smarter than everyone else whose trading style is different from his.
        When anonymous people started castigating him on his blog, he started branding them as a nuisance. The hypocrisy and irony.

        Comment by jhsdll1 | December 21, 2010

      • sir gus i think your answer along with everyone’s reaction here is too defensive. in fairness to cliff, it does look like a simple suggestion to me.

        Comment by gram | December 23, 2010

    • Thank you Sir Gus for all your insights. I like this blog a lot! People are sharing their infos and opinions about stocks.

      I am glad that Sir Gus is giving us insights as our guide what to buy/sell stocks. In fact, most of the companies that are mentioned by Sir Gus are good stocks. It’s really just a matter of how well you manage it. Sometimes it’s really a matter of time. Stock trading is not for the desperate people. At the end of the day, we’ll still be responsible of our own portfolios.

      More power to you Sir Gus!

      Comment by Ogie | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Cliffhanger,

      Just like a lot of people, I also follow Sir Gus’ blogs. His identity is not questionable. Yours is. I’ve read in Market Mirror that you were asked to reveal your true self but you declined. For whatever reason, only you know. Whenever you get to read anyone’s blog for that matter, you should not question the author’s “accountability and consistency”. I’ve gone through your blog once and never got a second look. Sir Gus is a respected figure. You’re not in anyway forced to read more so, follow his positions. I’m not being rude but I think you deserve to be treated this way. Sorry, Sir Gus for being so loud on this.

      Comment by Shan | December 21, 2010 | Reply

      • Cliffhanger,

        T

        Comment by claire | December 22, 2010

      • Cliffhanger,

        The stocks promoted by Sir Gus are stocks with potential growth, not maybe now but after 6months or even one year. Dont expect that everything, all stocks promoted here will shoot high IMMEDIATELY. You should wait and be patient, and after sometime you will be rewarded. The problem with other people, people tend to buy after reading without studying. They buy when prices is already high and blame somebody when the stocks is correcting. You should not doubt the sincerity of Sir Gus in stocks being mentioned here. This is for free, and he is not forcing anybody to follow his recommendation.

        Comment by claire | December 22, 2010

    • Hi cliffhanger,

      There is no reason for gus to be held accountable for anything. Truth is, we should be held accountable for what we say in this blog. After all, gus is merely sharing his opinion. Decisions we make are ours; gus does not force us to make calls or type down the order. I believe in Gus’s personal interest is merely for advocacy of financial literacy and although I don’t agree with everything he recommends, i believe he is very sincere in his opinions of certain stocks. For example, SMC has been shooting up like crazy these past few days and he has simply said that he doesnt know much about the stock to recommend an action to be taken on it.

      Give yourself a pat on the back, you and your blog have gotten our attention; but please limit yourself to comments that make more sense and are more civil. @ the end of the day, whatever gus says, we have to take with a grain of salt; buy or sell at your own risk. If you’re not doing that, I don’t exactly know what you’re doing in the stock market

      Norman

      Comment by Norman Go | December 22, 2010 | Reply

      • nicely said…maybe cliff can do some reflection over the holidays and try to be open minded…

        Comment by aa | December 22, 2010

    • Hi Cliff, i`m afraid your suggestion might lessen the fresh perspectives and stimulating ideas that Sir Gus are generously sharing in this blog if we become fixated on his portfolio’s daily results instead of giving weight to the process of how he chose his stocks. I follow this blog not only to seek market guidance but also because i treasure its literary value.

      Comment by Chris M. | December 22, 2010 | Reply

      • Everything we read are inputs. To me, sir Gus’ blogs provides very good inputs. To me, this Cliffhanger is a KSP and I observed many of his posts including those in other forums and threads are of negative inclination. Pang-gulo.

        Let’s not fall at the bottom of a cliff he’s in!

        Comment by Aldrien | December 22, 2010

  17. Lahat ng ginusto ko bilhin tumaas agad. 😦

    I tried MBT at 61 – nope, and then today JGS at 20.40 didn’t find any takers.

    :mutters:

    Comment by jasper | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ll take it, bro. 😛
      Better luck next time… 🙂

      Comment by Jaz | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  18. AP and AGI forming lower high ,lower low…just like Mpi last Month..

    Comment by Tony | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • what does that mean?

      Comment by jopard | December 21, 2010 | Reply

      • downtrend?

        Comment by rodimus | December 21, 2010

      • Bearish Sign..Downtrend.

        Comment by Tony | December 21, 2010

  19. I believe cliffhanger’s blog had an all time high record for number of hits since making that “suggestion”. Lol

    Comment by Jackie | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • lol his blog is an abomination. nothing but a tambayan for flamers.

      Comment by dave | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  20. I’m with half-a-mind not to buy for the year and just treat my extra cash as ‘capex’ and buy some appliance or something instead :/

    Will see tomorrow.

    Dang it.. why couldn’t MBT held on steady for just another day.. huhuhuhu..

    Comment by jasper | December 21, 2010 | Reply

  21. Oh wait.. gus, what’s your entry price for FLI? I just computed and the PE is an annualized 9.2x.. And the bali oasis(?) in marcos highway seems to have sold out already..

    Comment by jasper | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • At last!

      I managed to buy JGS at 20.50. Ten centavos higher than what I posted yesterday but its alright.

      I like DGTL and was considering buying that instead. But I also like CEB. Only, I am hesitant because of the recent open-skies.

      In this way, I managed to buy both of them indirectly. If DGTL and CEB contributes income, then all is well. If not, then all is well too since JGS has lots of other businesses that might be able to compensate.

      Comment by jasper | December 22, 2010 | Reply

    • and yes.. I’m talking to myself.. nyehehe..

      Comment by jasper | December 22, 2010 | Reply

      • CEB is a good company. However, fear exist because of its significant decline. Good that JGS came into the rescue buying back CEB shares. Personally, I think at this level, it is properly supported and day by day we will see its price appreciates gradually. Hope that DJIA will continue its upward move so PSE will follow through

        Comment by Claire | December 22, 2010

    • Jasper,
      FLI looks well supported around the 1.30 level.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  22. Sir gus,

    just drop by to say thank you for this blog, and to other who unselfishly share their thoughts/comments/opinion regarding our market..i been only an investor for a couple of years, but i learned a lot with the help of this blog..

    im proud to say that my portfolio performed well this year, close to my UITF(equity fund) and balance fund..
    i always try to outperformed my UITF,PSei and look myself as a professional fund manager although im in engr firm..:-)
    just an advise to other newbies, invest in some professionally managed fund also,and make it your benchmark aside from PSEi.. it is much fulfilling to outperform those fund, and i believe that Competetion bring out the best in you..

    Merry Christmas Everyone..

    Comment by sophomore | December 22, 2010 | Reply

    • that’s an interesting inout sophomore! i actually planned to do the same come FY2011. my fami fund performs better than my col’s in 2010 although it was short term

      Comment by rdthedeveloper | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  23. hehe am i allowed to defend myself guys? ill give u an explanation if u give me a chance 🙂

    Comment by cliffhanger | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Please dont hehe with this blog. We dont need a joker here ! After whats been said, i think you should feel the sentiments of almost all of us. Let us all be professional and sincere to one another – merry christmas to all !

      Comment by roberth | December 23, 2010 | Reply

      • i insist 🙂 anyway, ill be professional 🙂

        Comment by cliffhanger | December 23, 2010

    • why not send him an email instead. No need to broadcast in this blog since this is not a forum for the public.. traders pizza would be an appropriate avenue for a formal debate and exchange of ideas.. and not in this private blog

      Comment by pikachu | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  24. MWC is eating my gains on MER, just good it started to recover today.

    i’m contemplating letting go of my AP and AEV when it recovers, i think its downward biased already

    Comment by rdthedeveloper | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • if you’re a long term investor, stick with them, good fundamentals 🙂

      Comment by cliffhanger | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  25. Good day!

    I’m just a newbie in the stocks industry, and I’ve heard so much about your blog. I’m literally new at this game and I still don’t have any portfolio. I’m still thinking and looking for companies to put my investments to. Right now, I’m looking at AGI, and MEG if they are good companies to invest to. I’m surely grateful if you would enlightened me in this two companies. Also if you have any recommended companies, ill greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks!

    Comment by Glenn | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Glenn,
      Consider MPI and NIKL. I think infrastructure and mining are good themes for 2011.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  26. sir what are your thoughts on LND? one of the most active and biggest gains today. thank you. merry christmas

    Comment by pikachu | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  27. AGI’s taking over LND

    Comment by A.J. | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  28. MERRY CHRISTMAS to EVERYBODY!

    as we celebrate this Day of our salvation may we humble enough to acknowledge our shortcomings and open our mind and heart to forgive. the essence of this Day is Love let us love one another as brothers and sisters on this blogsite and as fellow investors.

    sir Gus thank you so much for everything.. your ideas are the only free gift i ever receive in my investment life unlike the market where tuition fee is high and hurting.

    cliff you are still our brother and i hope you will change for better. try to help us spread the literacy on investment it is a noble personal advocacy of sir gus which i fully supported on my little way.

    Comment by richard | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  29. Some thoughts before we go on the long holidays.
    1. I re-loaded on the wrong day. I boosted MPI@3.88p, and DMC@35p. It has proven to be a relatively costly mistake.

    – Always buy on a scale and always sell on a scale!

    2. #1 was relatively costly because when MBT dropped to 60, I was unprepared. I had been longing to buy that one for quite some time now.

    – I might implement top slicing. Just in case ‘I’m wrong or I misread the market’

    3. Even though I said I don’t mind the prices dropping much, I have so much MPI that I can’t help but cringe everytime it goes down.. I’m not that insulated after all.. :/

    Comment by jasper | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Sometimes we taught it’s a costly mistake but at the end of the day it’s a blessing. It happened to me last Friday when PNB was below 56 & I called my broker to buy me 400 shares but instead of 400 I mentioned 4000 & was executed immediately. I thought of reducing my position but on the next trading day PNB moved up and today it closed at 64.95.

      Comment by Rufo B. Orel | December 23, 2010 | Reply

      • wow! glad u weren’t burned on that one… congrats!

        Comment by cliffhanger | December 25, 2010

  30. Merry Christmas too!

    Sir Gus, thank you for the precious gift of advocacy on investment literacy that you shared to us. Your blog is my consistent read since October. I entered the stock market through First Metro just this month with high spirit and I can say that today I am happy that with too little gains to cherish and a lot to learn. I also read you blog and everyone’s comment to complete my day. May the Good Lord always bless you Sir Gus!

    Comment by nur | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  31. Merry Christmas, Sir Gus! Thank you for all your insights and please keep on sharing. Have a wonderful 2011. =)

    Comment by Turtle Capital | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  32. Merry Christmas everyone! 🙂

    Comment by Ria | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  33. Sir Gus,

    Merry christmas, learning a lot from your blog, checking 3x a day to read your readers reaction….Merry christmas everyone

    Comment by Mikayla | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  34. Merry Christmas Sir Gus! The loss i had last year when MPI was trading at 5 – 6 then down to 3 something and that ANI; price of 29, I unloaded at 18, imagine my loss(to which until now i cringed every time i remember it)Nabawi ko na almost thanks to your post re: PNB, AP, DMC, and ORE na rin i was able to ride the 4 before it went downhill again.

    Thank you very much. I was happy reading your blog and its readers’ comments na lang sana and i never intended to post here because I’m not really a market savvy or anything and can’t contribute to most of discussions. (I merely pick up information, don’t worry, i choose who to pick up from )I’m just a regular gal who wanted an alternative besides time deposit – so i enrolled in FMSBC.

    To cut this short, I just want to tell you that your purpose to educate those who wanted to learn the ‘trade’ is attained through this blog, we can’t all attend seminars/conferences.

    And so I hold you ACCOUNTABLE for my green portfolio this December(MER and TEL)!

    Comment by geline | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Geline,
      Unfortunately, TEL and MER are not green stocks so you can take me off the hook. The real green stocks are EDC and COAT. Unfortunately, COAT is a very small cap stock and the company does not really have the ‘moat’ that Warren Buffet speaks of; but I have a good friend portfolio manager who keeps the stock for principled investing. The stock pays decent dividends. EDC, on the other hand, is very appealing to green portfolios because apparently there are not very many geothermal companies you can choose from in the Asian region.

      Now I get it. By green, you mean the green display on the PSE most active list. How dense could I have been. I thought you by green you meant environmentally friendly companies.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  35. Sir Gus,

    Merry Christmas, thanks a lot for your time, idea, teaching you have share to everyone. God Bless and more power.

    Comment by zaizai | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  36. Sir Gus, Merry Christmas to you, thanks for the insights that very essentials for newbies.. like me.

    Comment by jofoler | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  37. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Sir Gus & Family! Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts and time. Thank God for you. God bless Sir Gus. Merry Christmas to fellow Gus readers. Wish us all success in our trading/investing endeavor. God bless us all.

    Comment by jovy | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  38. MERRY CHRISTMAS Everyone! We should never forget to thank our Most High for all the blessings we received for this year… more happy investors to come!

    Comment by jopard | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  39. Merry Christmas to all!

    Thanks to Gus and everyone (jasper, richard, chris m., and many others) who post their opinions here.

    @cliffhanger, deep down we all wish we can take a peek at Gus’s portfolio, but we don’t expect that to happen. What you must realize is that Gus’s blog is for informing those who still have trepidations when it comes to putting their money into the stock market. In terms of disclosure, there’s only one thing we need to know – Gus works for FAMI: he will not say anything (directly or implied) that will put FAMI in a bad light.

    Comment by Mal | December 24, 2010 | Reply

    • Agree!!

      And I am one happy FAMI customer!

      Scared Investor

      Comment by Scared Investor | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  40. Merry Christmas to you and your family Sir Gus!! 🙂

    Comment by Cholo | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  41. Merry Christmas Sir Gus and all the traders… God bless everyone! 🙂

    Comment by Ogie | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  42. “P.S. I learned fro WORDPRESS that if you want to receive an email every time I update this blog, just click subscribe on the site.”

    Can anyone please tell me whre I can find that subscribe button? I’ve been looking for it since Gus posted the above.

    Merry Christmas Sir Gus!

    Comment by Boyc | December 24, 2010 | Reply

    • Boyc,
      when you post a comment, below there is a small box next to which it says “subscribe by email to this site.” Just tick the box and I think you’ll be notified every time there is a new post.

      Comment by Gus Cosio | December 27, 2010 | Reply

  43. Merry Christmas to everyone!!

    Comment by Den | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  44. Merry Christmas Sir Gus and all the investors! God bless 😀

    Comment by KennyV | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  45. merry christmas sir gus.

    Comment by dave | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  46. What’s your target price for ORE in the first quarter of 2011?

    Comment by AbysmalSpecter | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  47. maligayang pasko sir gus at sa lahat ng nagmamahal ating bayan! 🙂

    Comment by chris m. | December 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

